Surf Life Saving Illawarra Website
Illawarra Credit Union

_____Surf Life Saving Illawarra - Life Saving News No. 10

Welcome to the latest Life Saving News

To keep all Illawarra Branch Clubs informed on current news and developments, The Illawarra Credit Union is helping by sponsoring this news page.

Matt Russell at SLSI Awards of Excellence

The inaugural Surf Life Saving Illawarra Awards of Excellence will be held on Saturday July 12th at Woonona Bulli RSL Club. This night of recognition for our volunteer lifesavers and surf sports champions will start at 6pm. Special guest presenter on the night will be Matt Russell from WIN News.

Matt Russell

Colleen Hatton will be playing piano through dinner and Band Plan B (pictured below) will be playing following the awards. After that the stayers can kick on at the Irish Bar where Quini will be playing until 2pm. Places at the night can still be booked by contacting Surf House on 4228 3884.

Austinmer Honours Australia's Finest Boaties

Austinmer's A boat crew member's Jack Patison, Steve Drysdale, Adam Prentice, Aaron Greenhalgh and Sebastian James were honoured by their club members with Member for Illawarra Dave Campbell presenting the crew with special jackets for their efforts. The current strength of rowing at Austinmer is a tribute to the hard work and dedication over many years of the legendary Dennis Patison.

Pictured from left above is Dave Eadie - Best All Round Member, Alex Herriot winner of the Sunday Morning Swim Series and Anthony Barthelmess - Best Senior Member. Steve Wilson was recognised as the Patrol Member of the Year.

Bellambi SLSC Presentation Night

Bellambi, 2001 / 2002 BHP Patrol Competition winners certainly know how to celebrate the efforts of their volunteers. Music, dancing, great food and some great awards like the Upside Down Duck award presented to Les Nicholls and the Best Dummy Spit Award that went to a recipient who then immediately threw the trophy out the window into the creek. Congratulations Simone McCartney (above) who was awarded the Most Improved Junior Member and Sheldon Dawkins the Junior Club Person of the Year. Hank Van Stuivenberg was honoured to accept the award of Club Person of Year.

Bellambi will be looking forward to the Awards of Excellence and the announcement of this seasons BHP Patrol Competition Champions.


Previous Editions of Life Saving News

No.1, No.2, No.3, No.4, No.5, No.6, No.7, No.8, No.9

Other news and information can be found at our website

Corrimal SLSC Benefit Night

To raise money to replace stolen equipment a benefit night has been organised for Friday 1st August at the Fraternity Club Fairy Meadow. Guest speaker for the night will be Mike Whitney who is regarded as one of the premier dinner speakers in the country. Comedian Calvin De Gray will add plenty of humour and spice to the night. Tickets are $55 and includes meal and drinks.

To secure your booking please contact Jason Northey 0438 360 055 or Paul O'Neil on 0407426263.

Sandon Point - How do they do it?

How do you have 31 patrollers with 100% patrol attendance out of a total of 59 proficient bronze holders and also have another 25 more who gained there bronze this season? Picture below shows long serving President Terry Hagan (left) presenting the award. Thankyou Terry for the incredible job you have done over the years as Club President.

How do they do it? I asked this question of new club President Tim Gripton."The success of the club, is centred around the concerted effort to maintain credibility in all aspects of the club's operations. That is treating people with respect and fairness, and keeping them informed of developments within the club, through our newsletter, in particular our financial status and the promise of better facilities in the future. It is the proficient bronze holders who are the back bone of our club, but it is the families that are our foundations."

Dale Laidlaw - Towradgi Patrol Member of the Year

Dale Laidlaw proudly displays his trophy received for winning Patrol Person of the Year. Dale is a very reliable team member on patrols. Dale also often helps out with water safety at Carnivals both in our Branch and further a field at State Championship events.

Helensburgh Stanwell Park SLSC - 95th Year

It was a privilege to attend their awards night at Helensburg Workers Club last Friday Night. Now in the clubs 95 year they are certainly a club that believes in the one cap - one club policy. I was truly encouraged to see so many young people in attendance. Congratulations to President Dave Anger for your clubs many achievements that included a very successful 95th year dinner and a successful hosting the BHP Steel Branch Championships.

Nathan Thompson (left) was a member of the U19 boat crew to make it through to the 2nd quarter final at the Aussie Titles. Nathan and trophies is pictured here with Club Captain of 11 years and former Illawarra Life Saver of the Year Mark Thompson.

Branch Council Election Meeting

Club Presidents will meet at 7.15pm, 25th July at Surf House to elect the new Branch Executive. The Branch AGM will be held in October.

Subscribe to this news page

Send an email to [email protected] with subscribe in the Subject Line and your name and organisation in the body of the message.


If you have information, photos or a story of interest email it to me : [email protected]

Many thanks to Bill Sheridan who often supplies photos for use on our website & in newsletters.


Gerald Davies, President SLSI

Newsletter proudly sponsored by the Illawarra Credit Union - "It's why I like the Illawarra"