Surf Life Saving Illawarra Website
Illawarra Credit Union

_____Surf Life Saving Illawarra - Awards of Excellence - 12/07/03

SLSI Awards of Excellence

The inaugural Surf Life Saving Illawarra Awards of Excellence was held on Saturday July 12th at Woonona Bulli RSL Club. Special guest presenter Matt Russell from WIN News did an excellent job of hosting the awards and his follow up story on Monday night on WIN News was deserving of an Award of Excellence. Thank you Matt and thankyou WIN News.

Why are we here and what are we about?

We aimed to recognise current excellence from across the 17 Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Illawarra. Our core business is Surf Life Saving and the awards searched out Illawarra members that achieved excellence in contributing to our cause. The night also recognised excellence in Surf Sports.

New SLSI Life Member - Robert "Bobo" White

I had the privilege of pinning Bobo with his Surf Life Saving Illawarra Life Members Badge. Helensburgh Stanwell Park members were there in force to support their Bobo and enjoy the memorable evening.

Ted Marshall Memorial Life Saver of the Year

Angela Simpson - Bulli SLSC

The Hon. David Campbell congratulates Angela on her achievement.

Angela celebrates with Senior Volunteer of the Year Wes Berg and Senior Athlete of the Year Nicole Sheedy. All three are from Bulli Surf Life Saving Club.

Junior Athlete of the Year - Eva Tobin

Wollongong City SLSC

Matt Russell presents Eva Tobin with her award. Eva from Wollongong City celebrated her award as junior athlete of the year in style and is looking forward to the coming season. Eva excels in the water and on the beach.

Youth Athlete of the Year

Joint winners Matt Heisley Wollongong City SLSC & Josh Minogue Thirroul SLSC (right).

Training Officer of the Year - Bruce Dingwall

Wollongong City SLSC

Bruce is a life member of Wollongong City. At a spritley 71 he devotes his time to training the youth of his club. Last season Bruce instructed 9 Surf Rescue Certificates, 15 Bronze Medallions and 1 Advanced Resuscitation. His award was accepted by Wave FM Volunteer of the Year Finalist Brett Dingwall.

Senior Athlete of the Year - Nicole Sheedy

Bulli SLSC

Examiner of the Year - Terry Hagan

Sandon Point SLSC


Competition Official of the Year - Gary Chapman

Thirroul SLSC

Gary since attending his Officials Course in Sept 2002 and since then has been an official at every Junior and Senior Illawarra Carnival, Sydney Water Surf Club Premiership and the NSW Junior state Life Saving Championships. Gary's unmatched committment and professional courteous manner has earned him this prestigeous award.

Previous Editions of Life Saving News

No.1, No.2, No.3, No.4, No.5, No.6, No.7, No.8, No.9, No.10

Subscribe to this news page

Send an email to [email protected] with subscribe in the Subject Line and your name and organisation in the body of the message.

Thanks to Hank Van Stuivenberg for the photos.

BHP Steel Patrol Champions - Bellambi SLSC

John Heath from Bellambi SLSC explained the sustained success in winning the BHP Patrol Competition was due to the revision questions that were given to Patrol Members at the start of every patrol. Gina Crick helps John proudly display the shield. Well done Bellambi !!!!

Administrator of the Year - Noel Gracie

Port Kembla SLSC

Noel Gracie humbly accepts his award as Best Administrator in the Illawarra.

Club of the Year Helensburgh - Stanwell Park SLSC

Annie Kontaratos from the Illawarra Credit Union presents president Dave Anger with the award of Best Club in the Illawarra. Now in the clubs 95 year they are certainly a club that believes in the one cap - one club policy. Congratulations to President Dave Anger for your clubs many achievements that included a very successful 95th year dinner and a successful hosting the BHP Steel Branch Championships.

BHP Patroller of the Year - Bill Seay

Port Kembla SLSC

Bill earned his bronze medallion on the 27th November 1949 and has been serving his community as a voluntary patroller since then. That adds up to 54 years. Last season he completed 148 hours on patrol. Well done Bill!

Wave FM Senior Volunteer of the Year - Wes Berg

Bulli SLSC

Lord Mayor Alex Darling presents Wes with his Award of Excellence. Wes is a 100% patroller and devotes much time to fundraising for his club. Currently holds the Bulli Workers Volunteer of the Year award.

McDonald's™ Junior Volunteers of the Year

Tony Dixon - Windang SLSC (above) is presented with his award by McDonald's™ Manager Mathew McCrory.

Joint McDonald's Junior Volunteer of the Year - Dale Whiteman - Thirroul SLSC. Congratulations Dale on doing an excellent job of MC for the Awards of Excellence.

Age Manager of the Year - Debbie Overell

Helensburgh-Stanwell Park SLSC

Debbie has been an age manager for 7 years. All 16 of her U14 age group achieved their Surf Rescue Certificate. Debbie is looking forward to taking on the roll of Rookie Co-ordinator in 2003/04.

Junior Life Saver of the Year

Joint winners Hanna Walker Wollongong City SLSC& Ben Dowling Helensburgh Stanwell Park SLSC. Accepting the award on behalf of Hanna was Gaynor Tobin of Wollongong City SLSC.

Masters Athlete of the Year - David Locke

Fairy Meadow SLSC

Branch Council Election Meeting - 25/07/03

Club Presidents elected the new SLSI Executive:

President - Gerald Davies

Deputy President - Shaun Minogue

Director of Finance - Gail Erven

Director of Youth & Member Development -
Gary Chapman

Director of Surf Sports - Lou Whant

Director of Life Saving - Don Allan

The next meeting of Branch Council will be the AGM 7.15pm Monday 27th October, 2003.



Gerald Davies, President SLSI

Newsletter proudly sponsored by the Illawarra Credit Union - "It's why I like the Illawarra"